WITH 9,312 REVIEWS
To view local phone numbers
Read what people are saying
Precision Overhead Garage Door of New Jersey
about Precision Overhead Garage Door
has received 55 reviews, averaging 3.00 Stars:
The salesman was very professional. The installation was sloppy and reckless. Bent nails were left in the trim and the water line was punctured leading to the outside water spigot. The garage door was not level with an opening not touching the garage floor. Installer had an attitude and shrugged when I mentioned the door not hitting floor. Today, 7/8/23 - the water line broke when I went to water my plants breaking 2 panels on the door. Tomorrow someone is coming out. This has been very frustrating, disappointing and time consuming on my part.
- Vincent Saluzzi
Door Installation Team: Tim N
Park Ridge, NJ
Mechanics were excellent pricing was very exspensive
- Claude Macaluso
Service Technician Team : Glen C
Your tech was nice . Technician was higher in price than most and wanted to do much more work than needed or explained.
- Gale Donner
Service Technician Team : Christian G
Your service was very professional. Your pricing felt as if it is unnecessarily high.
- Paul Leonardelli
Mt Arlington, NJ
The technician was on time, courteous and did quality work. Unfortunately I don't see where the replacement of these parts for one door cost $950. I was also interested in having the other door hardware upgraded but the cost is too high. I did research and these parts can be bought for less on line or at local hardware stores. To compare I bought and installed by myself two belt drive openers locally for less than this. This was the cost breakdown of the door rebuild Part Quantity Cost Total 1 1/8" 7x19 AC QUALITY OPERATING CABLES 1.00 $133.00 $133.00 2 3" CAST IRON PULLEY 4.00 $53.00 $212.00 3 4" PRECISION 13BB NYLON ROLLERS 10.00 $27.00 $270.00 4 1/8" 7x19 AC QUALITY SAFETY CABLES 1.00 $133.00 $133.00 5 HC 130 LB EXT SPRING YELLOW 2.00 $160.00 $320.00 6 #3 11GA HINGES 1.00 $0.00 $0.00 Sub-Total $899.00
Efficiently handled after rescheduling for delay of appointment. Pricing over expectations but glad to have a remote replacement.
- Elizabeth Bosland
Hello Elizabeth, thank you for the feedback regarding the garage door service you received. We want to ensure that all our customers are happy and satisfied with the level of service they receive from the first phone call, to end of the visit. Giving us 3 means you weren't quite 100% satisfied so I would like to reach out to you and discuss what we can do better. I look forward to speaking with you and of course we appreciate your choosing our company.
Service Technician Team : Ryan M
It was a simple issue. Broken spring. Tech was knowledgeable and quickly repaired the door. I thought the price was high. Luckily I had a coupon. I still have not received my receipt that was supposed to be emailed.
- Pat Pompeo
Service Technician Team : Brian H
The workers had to use My wood and i would like to have paid by credit card not by check.
- Allen Cohen
Eric Holder was very pleasant to work with.He did a nice neat job.
- William Carver Jr
The service was excellent in terms of timing and coming within the window 12-4, the technician was also great. The price for service was ridiculous. $700 for service/parts that cost $10 or less at Lowes. I have never paid more than $350 for it to be fixed so sadly we will be looking elsewhere next time. We asked if it was more bc it was a Sunday - technician said no, its just the company’s pricing.
- Frank Fochesato
Technician, Joshua, was extremely professional and proficient. We were very pleased with his service. On the downside, I cannot say the same for the office staff. This is the reason for 3 star rating instead of 5. Immediately after I made the appt., rec'd email stating tech would arrive between 10 and 12. Day before the appt. rec'd another reminder: between 10 and 12. When there was no word by 12:15, I called. The rep argued with me about the time (did not bother to check the emails) and neither apologized for or explained the delay. Very uninterested attitude. Eventually said she would call the tech, who would then call me with an update. I don't believe she did this, as no one called back. At 1:15 I called again, but could not get through. There was just music, a song about your great service!! After several tries, I called the toll free number. Music again, but at least this time, there was a recorded message attached to it. Call was answered by another rep., much politer than the first, who again stated she would contact the tech, who would then contact me. He did call back almost immediately and arrived shortly. His good service was tarnished by the office representative.
- dorothy karasimas
I had springs, cables and opener for this serbice call. I had to call a second time to secure a bracket which came out of the ceiling that holds the opener in place. The initial technician was friendly and courteous.
- Linda Schmidt
My garage door stopped working 3-4 weeks ago. The traction pulley was slipping . I called Precision after noticing they have a 50% service call coupon, as I wanted to get an expert opinion/estimate. The service technicians that came were very professional and friendly. They however did not carry the spares for Genie and hence made recommendations to change the Motor (3 Options all costing $500+ to $1200). When I asked if the Motor required change, they were honest to tell, it may need change in future as it is old, but they do not have spares to make fix to the current issue and eventually the Motor could give up (since it is old and possibly has wear and tear). The also said they could not honor the service coupon (50%) since I chose not to go with their service recommendation. I gave them full payment ($73 incl. taxes) for service call. I was unhappy as they could not honor service couple and provided the same feedback online. To my surprise I got a call in minutes from Doug. I appreciate the fact that he immediately promised to get the 50% (coupon) charges mailed to me . I am currently still waiting to receive the same and in the meanwhile, was able to get my garage door fixed for $140 from another local vendor.
- Vijay Bomma
The only reason I didn't rate them 5 stars was I thought the price was very excessive for 80 minutes of work. I chose to pay because I was pressed for time and needed the door repaired on short notice, otherwise I would have bought the parts and fixed it myself, or shopped around for a better price. The technician was very professional and did a good job. I liked that I was able to call at 10pm on a Friday night and schedule an appointment for the next afternoon. That made the price a bit more tolerable.
Glen Ridge, NJ
Garage doors were nice quality and ordering, delivery and installation went smoothly. I was not pleased that the handles and locks on each door were a 1/3 of the way over from the side of the door rather than centered on the door. We were told it was because of the fact that this door came in 4 panels and had to be cut down to 3 panels to fit the frame. Being that our garage faces the back of our home it is not too big of an issue. If these doors were delivered and our garage faced the front of our house I would have sent them back. I truly believe we should have been made aware of this situation when we ordered the doors and we might have chosen a different model. It does look a bit strange. I generally walk every day and I've been taking time to look at garage doors. I honestly can't say that I've seen any with the handles/locks off center.
- Mary Reach
Mary, Thank you for your feedback. I understand your comments. When purchasing a new door we sell both 4 and 3 panel designs. If you are really concerned about the placement of the handles please call me and I will do everything in my power to replace the door at minimal expense.
I didn't think it was fair to pay a service charge for a warranty call.
- adria morris
Adria, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business. When we rebuilt your door in 2009 it came with a lifetime warranty on all parts and 5 yr warranty on all labor. We did not charge for the roller that came out of the track. The service call is outside of the 5 yrs.
The Precision people were easy to get in touch with and came on time. They were able to quickly fix my garage door. However, their prices are outrageous. I'm sure if I shopped around I could have found a better price, but as we all know, once someone is at your house it is easier to just go with the people there. I would reccomend price checking before going with Precision, but besides the price they seem all right.
- Leslie Rochman
Dear Leslie, I am happy to hear we were able to resolve your garage door problem and get your door up and running quickly. I am sorry you felt that way about the pricing. What might you have been comparing our prices to? We provided you with springs that are meant to last 25,000 cycles and a warranty to match the purchase you made. If you would like we can discuss with you cheaper parts at a less expensive cost. If you are interested you can contact me at (973) 283-3124.
Mine Hill, NJ
At the prices you charged me, you should be a millionaire a hundred times over
- Jerry Ryerson
Thank you Mr Ryerson for your feedback. I wish I was a millionaire 100 times over. Running a successful business requires so many things that most homeowners don't realize. Last year when my insurance policy went up 2x due to regulations does not make me a millionaire. We will continue to try to keep prices down while maintaining a great place for my employees to work.
We had this service three times. We were satisfied with first two services and technicians. However we are not happy with our last service which was yesterday. The technician fixed what we asked for, and then we asked something else about our garage door. He seemed that he had no time for this and he didn't perform the through analysis about the condition of the garage door. We asked couple questions and he seemed that he was overwhelmed. I am not sure if I call same company or try a new one. Thanks Ayse
- Ayse Edeer
Dear Ayse, I am sorry to hear about your recent experience. We have spoken with the technician and expressed the importance of being thorough and addressing all of our customers concerns. This behavior is not acceptable for our technicians and I can assure you we will address this. We hope you choose Precision in the future. Thank you for your business.
Scott was personable, knowledgeable, and friendly.
- Alla Peckham
Great service, professional and felt very comfortable with Tim, he did a good job and had a good nature.
- Ilana Cuttler
Your sales rep was great and the guy who installed the doors was very nice but left cigarette butts, a Ton of screws and other little metal pieces from the installation all over the ground, is pieces of glass from Our old windows in the garage doors, and pieces of wood from the old doors- all over the ground.
- Liza Viana
We apologize for the serious inconvience, the installer has been re-educated on what needs to be done in the garage: everytime. Your feedback has made us a better company. Thank you!!
- peggy grow
While our experience may not have been the best, I would still recommend PDS to others. Our door broke on a Sunday and their willingness to come out right away was one of the reasons we chose PDS. The other was their ranking on HomeAdvisor.com The repair could not be completed on first visit as custom cables needed to be made. An appointment was scheduled for 10AM-12Noon the next day but technician did not get to us until 2 PM. After the work was completed, the cables came undone later the same day. Technician immediately returned to the house and properly connected the cables. I recommend this company for their professionalism and straight forward approach to pricing and repairs. They did not charge us a service call charge since the total repairs were just below $200 even though the technician had to come to the house three times. As stated, this may not have been the best experience but overall we are satisfied with their work and pricing.
- Candace Kounter
The technician was very friendly and knowledgeable. He did an excellent job. However,the prices of some of the work was very expensive. The cost to install cables was XXX dollars. To me that is very expensive when the technician was already at your house. I can understand the price, if he came here specifically to change cables. Needless to say I will not be using precision again and I will not recommend
- Alexander Kowalchuk
I hear your concern. Please be assured that our prices, while not the cheapest in the industry, give us the ability to provide you with the best trained and supplied technicians in the industry. We show up with a fully stocked truck, fully insured, background checked and drug screened. All these things cost money. I can only hope that the next company you call takes as much pride in who they send, how they send them and what they send them with.
Tech was not very friendly/personable The motor was gone as the unit is 12 years old but the 5 minute diagnosis still cost $73.83.
- Diana Schott
Diana, Thank you for the kind words about Scott. I know you are frustrated that we have a service call to come out. Unfortunately the cost to staff a truck, employee, gas, insurance etc prohibits us from diagnosing this for free. If you want us to install a new motor for you we will not charge you a 2nd time to come back. Best wishes Doug
Drew showed up during appointed time, was professional and explained why replacement rather than repair was needed. I suspect your company pushes for replacement instead of repair, just a feeling. Price was rather high for new unit, but was my choice to have you do it, or run out and buy one on my own and have joy of installing. I chose the install, and so far have been pleased.
- Mark Strauss
Although the service technician was pleasant, I found the service/product pricey and was not given many options for my garage door opener. Technician guided me well, but I think, I could be settled for the less money I paid here given I was told by customer service that if needed opener can be replace somewhere in 400s.
- Sumera Owais
Satisfied with the service performed.
- Julio Esquivel
Great technician. Very professional and great work performed. Unrelated to technician-- price quite high for spring replacement. May have to go elsewhere for opener replacement due to what i can assume will be an astronomically high price.
- Mark Chase
Mark, Don't sell us short. I think you will find our price on openers is extreemely competitive. To be the largest garage door company in Northern NJ you need to be. We do quote openers on the phone. Thank you for your business. Doug
LicenseNJHIC License #